Photo: Poul Rasmussen
Foto: Poul Rasmussen

Peter Øvig Knudsen, born on 9th October 1961, is a Danish author and journalist. Among other things, Peter Øvig Knudsen was a journalist on the Information daily newspaper between 1993-96 and with the Weekendavis between 1996-2003.

Since the beginning of the millennium, Peter Øvig Knudsen has established a reputation as an able historical documentarist with a series of books which have been capable of bringing events of former years up to date with a fine feeling for actions, causal explanations and suspense, initially about the Time of the Nazi Occupation: After the Killing – tales of the resistance fighters’ liquidations (2001) and Birkedal – a torturer and his women (2004).

His two volume work entitled The Blekinge Gang (2007) about the so-called Blekinge Gang’s creation and the assault on the Købmagergade Post Office in 1988 was a major critically acclaimed bestseller which attempted to explain what caused the young people involved to engage in serious crime in the name of a higher political cause. The Blekinge Gang was subsequently staged as a play at Husets Theatre in 2009 with manuscript by Claus Flygare and a documentary film in 2010, directed by Anders Riis-Hansen.

In 2011, the first volume of Hippie 1, Three years and 74 days that changed Denmark, of yet another major two-volume work, an accurate documentary description of the Thy Camp 1970 was published, in which Peter Øvig Knudsen describes the Rise and Fall of the Hippie Era, well-known and unknown figures and their significance to posterity. The second volume followed in 2012, entitled Hippie 2 – The Last Summer.

In 1996, together with Lars von Trier he carried out the TV experiment Marathon for Danmarks Radio, eight 24-hour interviews with such figures as the politician Pia Kjærsgaard, the actor Jens Okking and the hypnotist Ali Hamann. In 2003, together with Morten Henriksen, he directed the documentary film “Licensed to Kill”, based on his book “After the Killing.”

Peter Øvig Knudsen has been awarded many prizes, such as the Rosenkjær Award 2004, The Cavling Award 2007, The Readers’ Book Prize 2008 and the Søren Gyldendal Prize 2008.

From Gyldendal’s Open Encyclopedia.